I need your help!

I have missed all the deadlines I had set for myself as to when I would actually get going on fundraising for the marathon. It’s far too late at this point to do t-shirt sales in time for the upcoming race. It is quite clear to me now why it is that I haven’t done any real fundraising since when Maddie was almost two and only battling cancer……I am just too busy. So that’s where you come in……if you’d like to help us raise money for epilepsy research, please do! Share this post or the link below with anyone else who might be interested in helping too!

Click here to go to our fundraising site.

Tomorrow I will be running 20 miles as part of my training and I will do so again just a week later. I have already run one 18 miler during marathon training. Finally, on October 28th, I will run the Marine Corps Marathon in Washington DC in honor of my beautiful little girl. This training has been hard. But it is not nearly as hard as watching my amazing daughter suffer through hundreds of seizures daily. It has been really helpful during my long training runs to be able to draw strength from her, and our experiences over the last almost 5 years. But I am getting to the point now where I am really ready to run the race and be done with all of the hard training. I love running, but following a grueling training plan takes a lot of the fun out of it for me. But when the race is over, Maddie will still have seizures, and we will still be struggling to find ways to control them and to try to help her learn and develop. Which is why it is so important to me that I help raise funds which could contribute to the next big innovative treatment for epilepsy.

I made our fundraising goal $10,000 because that is what we raised for CureSearch a few years back when we were in the throes of leukemia treatment. I still love that organization and plan to raise funds again for them some day, but as I explained in an earlier post, my primary focus now is fighting the seizures. There is still a chance that with new discoveries that we might be able to heal our precious child. And that is why we need your help! Please spread the word so that we can make a difference in the lives of children who are robbed of their ability to learn and develop by catastrophic epilepsies.

To learn more about Citizens United for Research in Epilepsy, please check out their website. They are funding novel Infantile SpasmsĀ research right now.

I will update with more about how things are going for Maddie over the next few weeks and will be reminding y’all about the fundraiser. But please don’t procrastinate (like I do!). If you feel inclined to help, please do so…..we genuinely appreciate it from the bottom of our hearts. And for those of you who have already donated, thank you thank you thank you! I’d run to the end of the earth if I thought it could help our little girl in some way.

Love to everyone,

Liz, Brandon, and Madeline

Leave a Reply

