It’s almost summer…..

Where has the time gone?

Brandon has almost been gone for two months. This deployment is different than our previous ones and so we don’t really have an exact idea of when he’ll return. But we are keeping busy, which helps.  He is safe and busy too. And I hear from him regularly via email which keeps me sane.

Maddie’s first full year of preschool is almost through and I’m thrilled to be able to say that Maddie is truly making progress. It isn’t fast, but we are moving in the right direction. She is much more verbal, though you could not yet really say she is talking. But I often know what she wants or needs now, so that is huge.

We are beginning to have to deal with behavioral issues, basically normal toddler stuff. It is a bit complicated to discipline a kid who I cannot put down because I have to be holding onto her to prevent her from slamming her face into the floor with a seizure. But I am really happy to see her making developmental progress, even if it now puts me in a quandary about how on earth to discipline her. She can be a handful. Actually, she’s always been a handful, but now it is in the way that most people use that term.

Other stuff…..seizures still suck. We are working on it as usual. They are a bit better than a few months ago, but they are still not good. She is wearing a harness now to walk. This means I follow behind any time she is walking all day. But her walking is much better, and she can actually run now. Though we are really a sight with me running right behind her.

Here are some recent pics:

So you can see from the pics, she is a really happy child. And that makes it all a lot easier. I am not sure how I could love this kiddo any more. We definitely still have our challenges here, but Maddie makes my job awesome. It can be sad and exhausting at times, but I just try to take my cues from her. And she is happy.

I’ll try to stay in touch!

Love to everyone,

Liz & Maddie

10 thoughts on “It’s almost summer…..

  1. Oh I hate to hear that seizures are still giving you trouble! I was sure hoping Banzel was “the one”!! I’m so glad that Maddie is such a happy girl for you. I can’t even imagine how stressful it must be doing this on your own without your husband’s help!!! Thinking of you,
    Tera

  2. Wow. She is so pretty. I love her hairstyle. Isn’t it nice when we can see progress at any rate. She is an amazing little girl.

  3. Hello Liz!!!
    This baby girl has gotten so big!!! She’s so beautiful and looking more and more like you sweet Momma!!! I am so glad to see her big, beautiful smile!!! Love to both of you!!

    Bec

  4. I love the smiles. She is absolutely adorable. I find it very hopeful that she continues to be making progress despite the seizures. It’s a sign of wonderful things to come when she finally becomes seizure free.

  5. Dear Amazing Liz,
    It was great to have an update on you girls, and of course, Brandon.
    The photos are of a big girl now! The word progress, no matter what the degree, is the key, eh? We’ll take it. Hope there will be more of that in the near future. She surely is a pretty little girl.
    Lv, Brucie Harry

  6. Liz –

    I can’t get over how big she’s gotten! And you look amazing!!!

    I know it’s never easy but love to hear you have some normalcy in your life – even if it comes in the form of a toddler who tests you 🙂 She is beautiful. I think of all three of you daily.

    With love,
    Carrie

  7. Liz, thank you for taking the time to update us. You both are so beautiful, she IS a ‘mini-me’ of yours! Her smile is contagious. She does look happy but she also looks confident and loved. Always praying for you, Teri

  8. ‘much more verbal, though you could not yet really say she is talking’

    -I totally and completely understand what you mean. Not just with that but with a lot. All except for the part about the seizures. The fact that they are still going on fills me with a fury I can’t describe whenever I think about it.

    Still, it’s always good to hear from you in any case. Love the new pics too, as always.

  9. Liz,

    Our little group of 8 ladies are still praying daily for little Maddie!! We are looking for a BREAKTHROUGH and even though this is a little change…it is change!!! Prayers are working.

    Her pictures are so darling. We know how trying this can be for you, so prayers for endurnce and courage as you continue this journey together and safe return for Brandon.

    Hi to your mom for me.

    Dorothy Jones
    CBS

  10. Liz
    I am so glad to hear the good news of Maddie’s progress developmentally; and thank you for sharing new pictures – she has really grown, always looks happy and the two of you look beautiful. All 3 of you remain on my prayer list. Maddie-a cure for the seizures, Brandon-a safe return and you-strength to continue the journey with Brandon & your precious child.
    Love to all
    Loretta

Leave a Reply

