Snow Day

First a quick update on how things are going: We weaned Maddie off the diet. Seizures are no better, but no worse. So the diet wasn’t doing anything. Back to the medicine merry-go-round….

There is good news though……two days after being off the diet, she began to walk again. She had not walked without alot of help for 4 months. And the diet just seemed to sap her energy no matter what changes we made to try to fix the energy problem. So even though the diet is touted as a treatment with less side effects, for Maddie it had very severe side effects. So I am relieved to have put it behind us. I am giving her a break from trialing something new for a week or so, just to see where she is seizure-wise without the diet.

Happy Valentine’s Day! I got a dozen roses from my hubby today and though we haven’t spoken, I have heard from him via email today. Definitely improves my mood to know he is safe.

So we got a bunch of snow here Friday into Saturday. I think this is the most snow I’ve seen here since we first moved to Lejeune in 2000. Maddie has her days and nights reversed again and so we have not had much playtime in the snow. But I waited til some of it melted and it wasn’t so deep today, and I got some cute pics.

She really seemed to have fun, though it was pretty unfair of me to put her in boots that are hard for her to walk in, in hard crusty snow, on the third day since she has started to walk again……There were a few falls, but she really seemed to enjoy herself, even lying in the snow.

And I included the pics of our house and street for those who might be curious about base housing. Our street is quite quaint….though the houses are old and a bit small.

Love to everyone!
Liz

14 thoughts on “Snow Day

  1. Kids and snow are just made for pictures! So cute, Liz!

    Oh…and not that it’s my business…buuuuut I think the snow and heavy boots could totally count as PT. 🙂

    xoxo

    …danielle

  2. There is something about snow that makes everything look so beautiful and magical. Maddie looks absolutely darling in these pictures. That is quite impressive that she was able to walk in snow!!!

    It must be a relief and disappointment at the same time to be off the diet. Sophie stopped sleeping through the night when she started the diet. So, therefore, she started having seizures in the middle of the night (she always had a cluster whenever she woke up). And we are still having sleep issues.

    Your street is quite quaint. A lot of big, beautiful trees and huge yards…not what I would have expected in base housing.

  3. I am happy to see the smiles on her face! I am also excited to hear that she is walking again. We had chosen not to try the the diet for the reasons you went off of it. When it was presented to us- Anna had just started walking – almost 2 years old, and only spoke a few words/phrases. She only weighed in at a whopping 20 lbs so we opted against all the risks. I have never regretted it as I haven’t met one child who did’t regress developmentally in one way or the other and most are no longer walking,
    Good luck and Happy Valentine’s day to you and Maddie. Understanding the military- an emai, is a lot to receive on V- Day!

    Margie

  4. Thank you so much for your updates. I am so sorry the diet did not work for Maddie but so thankful that she is walking again w/out it! Continue to hang in there and many of us will continue to pray with you for much progress & healing!

  5. Hey Liz! So glad to hear from you, and so, so glad to see those big beautiful Maddie eyes!!!

    Take care!

    Love to you!
    Bec

  6. I’m so glad she is back on her feet. It’s such a relief to know the effects, while horrible, were temporary. Good idea to wait a week or two. What is next? Depakote? You’ve tried Topamax, right?

  7. Liz, She is so beautiful and cute in the snow. She looks so happy. It is so good to see her look so happy. If you need anything I am an hour away. Tom 252-269-2745

  8. Liz,
    I think of you and Maddie a lot. She looks so beautiful in her pictures, her smile is just priceless! I am sorry that the diet didn’t work out, but I am glad to here that she is up on those feet again. Your an amazing Mom to an amazing daughter! I will keep you all in my prayers and I am so glad that you got some beautiful roses from your hubby yesterday.
    Keeping you all in my thoughts and prayers,
    Hugs,
    Zanna, angel Jenna’s Mama

  9. Hi Liz
    I am so glad to hear from you with an update about Maddie.
    I think of all 3 of you (& your Mom) so often and keep praying for Brandon’s safety and Maddie’s healing. Love the expressions you captured of Maddie in the snow. She is just adorable. So glad to hear she is walking again. Love, Loretta

  10. You go Maddie!! This is your year!! She is absolutely beautiful. Nothing is going to hold that little girl back. We love you Maddie. The prayers keep coming for you and your Dad and Mom. Liz, you are a hero to all. Prayers and hope to make this the best year ever for the Gorman Family!!!
    Love, Doug

  11. Wonderful photos.

    And thanks…I did wonder what base housing looked like. I actually think it’s very quaint. I was picturing something out of the first Incredible Hulk movie…lots of LEGO-looking houses.

  12. Hey Ms. Liz!

    I am a friend of Brantley, who I think is your niece. I am praying for Maddie constantly.Glad to hear she had fun in the snow.

  13. Hi Liz, your husband gave me this site so I would better know how to pray for you both — I am the 2/2 chaplain.

    I pray your family continues to receive enough grace to meet these trials. Maddie looks like alittle angel!

    Your husband is doing an excellent job in leading his men. It is an honor to work with him.

    Lord willing, he will be back in your arms real soon!

    Warm regards,

    John

Leave a Reply

