Seriously?

Sometimes we honestly just feel like all of this is just some unbelievably cruel joke. This afternoon we were due to leave for the beach, to relax for a few days at Figure 8 at my uncle’s house (thanks so much Haywood!), and to try to find a place to live in Jacksonville. It was our first real attempt to get back to a more normal life.

Of course, before leaving we had to check Maddie’s counts. This was our first time getting her blood via a finger stick after removing her port Friday and it was not great. But we left the clinic to pack the car and to wait to get her counts faxed to us. So when we finally heard the counts, the doctor let us know that some of the cells he saw on the slide were “possible blasts”. He said there were definitely some abnormally formed lymphocytes and that it was hard to tell, some of them may be blasts. Blasts are what we would see if she was relapsing. There are times where we have seen blasts because she was experiencing a strong recovery, but being that we have just restarted chemo, she should be doing the opposite of recovering.

So this is potentially very bad news. We will now be doing a bone marrow aspirate tomorrow and hope to have a preliminary result by late in the day.

Please pray that the leukemia is not back in our precious child’s body.

Love to everyone,
Liz, Brandon, and Maddie

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

15 thoughts on “Seriously?

  1. Dear Liz, Brandon and Maddie,
    I will continue to pray for you all. It is seriously time for y’all to catch a break. Hugs to your precious child.
    Thinking of you…
    Lori

  2. I’m so sorry to hear this. My family will be praying so hard for good news for your precious little Maddie. Hoping your family will get the break you so badly deserve!!

    Please know that so many are praying for your bright & beautiful little girl…those that have never met her.

    Kelly (Madison, WI)

  3. Dear Liz, Brandon and Maddie:

    I am Bea’s friend, and I have been keeping up with Maddie. I pray for her and you, and all the doctor’s in her life.

    Thinking of you all, Dee

  4. Dear Liz and Family,
    I just want you to know that each of you are in my thoughts and prayers. I’m sending a big virtual hug to you all and am praying so hard for the good results on the bma.
    Thinking of your precious girl and praying for the break that she more than deserves,
    Zanna

  5. I just screamed a lot of swear words. I’d tell you what I said but its not proper for the internet. I’m sure its nothing you haven’t said already though.
    I’m praying that this is just a joke and the BMA is clean and you can go on vacation. Maddie needs a break. You need a break.
    A big big hug to you.
    Love,
    Sarah and Abigail.

  6. I am so sorry. Maddie is on every prayer list I know about. She is in my prayers every day. God Bless You All. My heart aches for you.
    Love
    Loretta

  7. Liz, Brandon & Maddie –
    We are praying for good news for Miss Maddie. Much love to you all
    Carrie, Zack, Elizabeth and Mary Margaret

  8. Liz,
    Maddie continues to be in my prayers. I am so thankful that you are in our lives. You have given me such sweet support. I want health and peace so badly for sweet Maddie. I pray that tomorrow’s procedure goes smoothly with clean marrow. I pray that you can get rest and vacation as previously scheduled…worry free.

Leave a Reply

