Recovery

At our last update, we felt things were improving, though slowly. Unfortunately, since Thursday evening Maddie has gotten less responsive to us and is basically sleeping or nursing all day. We have begun to see her seizures coming back (they stopped when she first got the fever that led us into the hospital). They are different than before though, and sometimes it appears that she is “absent” while she is awake, so that may indicate the development of a new seizure type. On Thursday, she was talking, played a little, and even ate a handful of cheerios. Since that evening, she has barely interacted with us at all.

Needless to say we are devastated. She just survived an incredibly life threatening infection, and now the seizures seem to be taking her from us. We have had an EEG, which did not fully explain what we are seeing. We will probably have another MRI of the brain early this week to see if there is any new damage. We are actually taking her off her seizure meds (since it does not seem to be working anyway) in hopes that we can see what is really going on right now.

Please keep her in your prayers that we begin to get some interaction with her and that the seizures do not get too bad.

Thanks,
Liz, Brandon, and Maddie

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

20 thoughts on “Recovery

  1. Liz –
    Kiss that sweet little girl for me. You are never far from my thoughts. You are an amazing mother – I am praying your little girl will be back to her old darling self soon.
    Lots of love to all the Gormans,
    Carrie

  2. God is with you all at this time, especially Maddie. Our prayers are for her and you every day. We love you Maddie.

    Doug and Trish

  3. Liz,
    Continuing to keep you all in my prayers, and am praying so hard for something to be found that will help Maddie.
    Sending Big Hugs to all of you,
    Zanna

  4. My heart hurts for all of you. I pray for the doctors and nurses to have the knowledge and skills to determine what Maddie needs to make her well. I pray for all of you to have the strength you need to get through these difficult days. God bless and keep all of you in His care. Loretta

  5. Hi Liz. I’m so sorry. I hope they figure Maddie’s head out soon. I remember when Abigail had her fungal infection, she just laid on my chest and slept or nursed all day and it was so heart breaking. I hope and pray they figure out what is ailing dear Maddie. Strength to you in these next few days.

  6. I’m so sorry to hear of Maddies continued struggles. I will continue to pray for her and for you and your family. (Bea was in my 2006-07 CBS class and I have prayed for Maddie since then.)
    It is difficult to understand why these seizures, etc. continue to happen, but we have a big God who is in control and we will ask for His favor to help sweet little Maddie overcome this. You are a loving mom and my heart and prayers go out to you also. Dorothy

  7. Brandon and Liz,
    Our thoughts and prayers are with you. We have been so amazed at the strength the two of you have shown throughout this ordeal. We will continue to pray for all of you.
    Jimmy and Dawn

  8. Please know that Maddie is in my family’s everyday thoughts and prayers. Praying the doctors gain the knowledge to heal her, she is back to her adorable little self again and for your family to have the strength and patience to get through this.

    Kelly Diaz

  9. Liz,

    I’m heartsick for you. I can only imagine how terrified you are. I’m so sorry to hear how things have been over the weekend. Please know we’re keeping all of you close to our hearts and actively in our thoughts. I wish I had some great words…but I’m utterly at a loss.

    Cyber hugs,
    Alicia from ALL-Kids list

  10. Liz, I have talked to Margaret and am updated on Maddie…..I am on my knees and I pray for your continues strength and patience. Prayers surround you and precious Maddie. Just wanted you to know someone else is praying. Love, Velva

  11. I’m so sorry to hear that Maddie is still struggling. You are definitely being lifted in prayer!

  12. God is fully present with us, In all good, in all suffering, in life and in death, God is fully present, this would mean that he suffers with us, he rejoices with us and is our constant guide and strength… That’s what my pastor wrote me when I told her your latest updates on Maddie. These words comforted me, in this time of confusion, sadness… yet always hopefulness. Love to you. We are going to keep praying for your little princess to heal and come back to you.
    Love, Josh & Jill

  13. Brandon and Liz,
    Our thoughts and prayers are with you during this time and always. Let us know if there is anything we can do.

    The Bertrams

  14. I am an IS Community mommy and have followed Maddie’s story ever since reading about her. I hope the seizures go away. I am praying for your sweet little girl.

Leave a Reply

