We did it!

We survived the marathon! Both Brandon and I had some injury issues going on but he still had a great race (3:37) and I had a decent race (4:34). I won’t make excuses, I know it’s my first marathon, but I’m competitive and planned to run a very different race than I did. But I did it, and it’s over……the most important thing is that we raised lots of money for epilepsy research and I’m thrilled with that!

I can’t thank you all enough for making my fundraising so successful! When I was really hurting at mile 19, I reminded myself that lots of people had faith I could do this and that I had to keep on moving! I spent a lot of the race thinking about how lucky I am to be healthy enough to do this. It was extremely motivating to have competitors on the course who were missing legs and competing either with prostheses or using hand-cycles. There were also lots of people pushing strollers so that children or adults who cannot run can experience the joy of competing in a race. Seeing those folks reminded me to enjoy the moment and not get so down on myself once I realized I wasn’t going to meet my time goal. All in all it was a great experience. I am so proud to have done it.
I also cannot thank my mom enough. As usual, she stepped in and took care of Maddie so that we could go out there and compete together. It was supposed to be a fun trip outside of the race, but due to weather and other obstacles they were mainly stuck in the hotel and she did a fabulous job of keeping Maddie entertained under those circumstances.
We got out of DC just before Hurricane Sandy really made landfall. But we felt her wind during the marathon and had very wild weather on the drive home yesterday. Our prayers go out to those affected by this crazy storm. We were thankful to get out of there before it got bad. That was certainly an unexpected factor in our race weekend.
I’ll update more later regarding the shirts and the fundraising total. It’s somewhere over $7000 with pledges made that haven’t been entered on the site yet. My goal was somewhat arbitrary, and I’m really pleased to have raised so much for epilepsy research. I’ll also post some race pics once I’ve downloaded them.
Thanks so much for your support! Love to everyone!
Liz, Brandon, and Maddie
3 thoughts on “We did it!

Leave a Reply

